5 IAS officers promoted to rank of secretary

DEHRADUN: The state government has promoted five IAS officers to the rank of secretary on Monday which has raised eyebrows in bureaucratic circles, with a section of babus claiming that the move goes against service rules as the officers have not completed 16 years of service. The state government has said that the decision was taken as there was a shortage of secretary rank officials in the state.

The Trivendra Singh Rawat government has promoted five 2002 batch IAS officers – Radhika Jha, Nitesh Jha, D Senthil Pandiyan, Shailesh Bagoli and Vijay Kumar Dhaundiyal – from selection grade to super time scale.The officers, who were serving as secretary in charge in various departments, were eligible for promotions on or after January 1, 2018, when they would complete 16 years of service.

 Requesting anonymity, a government official told , “The rules clearly say that an IAS officer can be promoted to the post of secretary only after he/she completes 16 years of service. It seems that the government has ignored the rules regarding promotion of IAS officers.”
 The official added that the state government had no right to relax rules regarding promotion of officers belonging to All India Services. “The rules dictate that the state government has to send a proposal to the central government regarding vacancies available in the state and its intention to promote eligible officers,” he said.
When contacted, Bhupal Singh Manral, additional secretary, department of personnel, told TOI, “The promotions have been made in the interest of the state as there was a shortage of secretary rank officials. The decision of the state government will be communicated to the department of personnel and training at the Centre.”The newly appointed secretaries will be entitled to their new pay scale from September 1, 2017. They will earn in the pay band of Rs 37,400-67,000 with grade pay of Rs 10,000. Among the promoted officers Radhika Jha is secretary in charge, CMO, and secretary in charge of the urban development department. D Senthil Pandiyan is transport commissioner and secretary in charge of the transport department. Nitesh Jha is on central deputation while Shailesh Bagoli is secretary in charge of the sports department.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »